School History

Buckingham Preparatory School is part of the E. Ivor Hughes Foundation.   EIHF is a charitable trust run by a Board of Governors.  The Chair of the Board of Governors is Mrs Lynn Grimes.  Staff are employed and paid by EIHF.

Buckingham Preparatory School was founded in 1937 as part of a tied-house school.  In September 1959 the Lower School separated from the original Upper School.    In January 1997 the lower school moved from its original site in The Ridgeway, Kenton to its current premises on Rayners Lane in Pinner.  From its inception the school has constantly sent boys on to the top independent and grammar schools in the local area, and beyond.

Shortly after moving to Rayners Lane, Laurence Smith became the Headmaster of the school. He took it from strength to strength until his retirement in 2013.  Old boys fondly remember Mr Smith as a fantastic role model and mentor.

In Sarah Hollis, the school appointed  a new Headteacher who has continued to take the school forward.  Her vision for the school and enthusiasm has been rewarded with an ISI inspection grading of ‘Excellent’.   The schools original traditions and values continue to thrive alongside a vibrant and exciting learning environment. To this end, the school has undergone an extensive refurbishment, including a newly fitted library , a modern ICT suite and upgraded classrooms all with natural light and a wide provision of ICT materials.

To Contact The E Ivor Hughes Foundation

E. Ivor Hughes Foundation
458 Rayners Lane, Harrow, HA5 5DT
Phone: 020 8427 8070

Day in the Life
Explore our fantastic school